Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Writing letters has played a huge role in our pattern of communication over the past years. However, with the introduction of modern technology – which has given rise to modern communication, one can say that letter writing may no longer be as necessary or as effective as it used to be in the past. In this essay, I will argue that while letters helped our communication greatly previously, technology plays an even greater role in advanced and effective communication. Many years ago, the concept of letter writing was seen as one of the best forms of communication. We get the chance to express ourselves in writing to others who cannot be physically seen. However, this was so because there was no better medium of communication available to us. A couple of years after, modern technology was introduced with quite a number of alternative means of communication such as telephone, fax machines and mobile phones. with these mediums, we are able to communicate more effectively. The amount of time and energy used in conveying a message has reduced drastically. For example, sending a letter to someone in the past would take at least 2 to 3 days to get to the other person. Hence, with the use of phones, we actually get to speak with people in real-time and get immediate responses. The use of advanced modern technology such as computers and tablets e.g. IPad, has not only further enhanced the reduction of communication time, but has also succeeded in reducing the distance between people. These forms of technology have given us access to the internet which provides a wider range of communication options with the use of social media. Presently, we are able to video chat with others using applications like Skype, Instagram, Facebook, Snap chat, Whatsapp and many more. Thus, we no longer just get to speak with people and get immediate responses, we can actually see them too in real-time. With these above points, we can therefore conclude that modern communication is not only more effective than letter writing, it also gives a notion that the other person is present with us, hereby making letter writing highly unnecessary.