The increasing housing problem in big cities has social consequences. Some people say that only government can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The issue of homelessness is exacerbating which is leading to severe social repercussions. It is argued that only the government can help alleviate this issue. Personally, I completely agree that lawmakers can draft laws that can solve this issue. The government should increase the minimum wage in order to help workers become able to afford to pay rent especially in the urban areas where housing is very expensive that way all working people will become able to afford rent in addition to other expenses. For example, last year in Sudan the government raised the minimum wage which helped decrease the homelessness by approximately 10%. Therefore, by raising the wage of workers the issue will automatically be mitigated. The lawmakers can make policies to control the prices of rent and houses to become affordable for everyone as the landlords will use the increase of population to profit more by raising the prices on the market. Moreover, the authorities can build houses and buildings for rent with trivial prices which can only be for underprivileged citizens. For instance, lawmakers in Newzealand passed legislation to build 100000 houses to help more then a hundred thousands homeless families with only paying 30% of their salaries regardless of how much monthly income they have and the rent will increase if they obtain higher salaries. To conclude, the problem of accommodation affordability is accelerating and can only be eradicated by the help of governments because they can make robust laws to assist helpless poor people by increasing wages and reducing rent prices.