Some people believe that restoration of old buildings costs too much; we should demolish them and build new ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When talking about refurbishings and renovations, many people are of the opinion that structures that have been up a really long time should be destroyed and a new one built in its stead. I strongly concur with this reasoning and in this essay, I will discuss why. The first obvious reason is money. Owing to the fact that a building that has been up for while has undergone a lot of wear and tear, renovating will cost an arm and a leg. Many times, the building is already falling apart from age. For instance, roofs may be leaking, pipes may have burst in walls and many other unseen problems. Because of this, almost everything will need to be taken apart and replaced. The amount of cash sunk into such projects is unbelievable and it is more expedient to demolish the structure and build it to taste. This leads me to the second reason I am pro-demolishing. Although old buildings may be somewhat a spectacle, many ancient buildings are really just that, ancient, with nothing to write home about. With our ever-changing times and progress in architecture, there are now several designs that are both functional and aesthetic. Attempting to redo and old building according to modern standards is like passing a camel through a needle's eye. You may end up with a very confused-looking house for example. In conclusion, I believe people should go right ahead and pull down aged constructions because of the outrageous amounts of resources that will need to be spent trying to make it new. Doing this will save plenty of money and help the project managers easily conform to modern architectural expectations.