Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

People who decide to move and live in a country which does not share the same native language as them usually face obstacles to communicate properly and to solve daily problems and tasks. This essay totally agrees that communicate in a different language can cause serious social and practical problems and will point out some of thoses problemas in the next paragraphs. To start with, it is important to say that efficient communication requires the acknowledgement of cultural and social context. Therefore, when someone moves to a different country, there is an enormous probability for them to miss that social context. Consequently, those people might face serious problems to connect with natives and create a meaningful relationship with them. Furthermore, diferences in mutual events that happen in childhood - cartoons and tv shows for instance - might also create a barrier to social connection. It is also important to point out that the majority of people who move to a different country do not manage the whole aspects of the new language and might have problems with specific vocabularies. To illustrate that, practical issues such as explaining problems with their car to a mechanic or trying to buy a specific tool to fix the toilet, for example, might be even harder if they are not able to communicate properly. A study published by Carnegie Melon College showed that one of the biggest reasons that make foreigners go back to their countries is the difficulty to addapt to some new language. To conclude, there is a lot of problems related to live in a country which does not share someone's native language. Those obstacles could reflect not only in social distance but also practical problems for foreigners.