More and more parents are allowing their children to play on computers and tablets as they think that children should learn technology skills. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It has been observed that guardians are encouraging their kids to operate computers so that they can grasp important technological skills. Although this choice has both merits and demerits, the positives seem to be more prominent. On the one hand, one of the major disadvantages of this development is that it adversely affects the health of the young ones. It is generally seen that they spend most of their time under the glare of computer screens owing to which they often skip performing any outdoor activities. In such a scenario, it is more likely that their physical development can be afflicted without any workout. For example, UNESCO has recommended at least one hour of physical activities each day for children below 14 years for the overall development of their physique. Thus, if they fail to perform any exercises, it can impinge the health of the youngsters. On the other hand, there are several benefits of learning computer skills. First of all, children can equip themselves with basic knowledge of all the electronic gadgets once they start using computers in their younger age. Since everything is being automated with computers these days, It is imperative to have basic knowledge of electronic devices. Not only this, but using the computer also teaches typing to the young minds which can help them in education. For instance, various handwritten tasks in school and colleges are being replaced with soft copies, thereby learning of computer can assist them in these tasks in their curriculum. Yet another benefit of working on the computer is that it develops the interest in programming and coding among the young torchbearers. Since the IT industry is the booming sector as compared to others, knowledge of computers can surely aid them in their future ambitions in this domain. To cite an example, it is due to the rising benefits of learning computer skills that online coding classes are being provided to kids under 10 years through various platforms and mobile applications. It clearly depicts that equipping computer skills at an earlier age helps in the future. To conclude, even though using of the computer has a negative impact on health which can even be surmounted by limiting spending time, I still believe that advantages have outweighed its disadvantages as it is conducive for children in terms of education as well as future jobs.