Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is widely argued whether letting children decide what they wear, eat and entertain on a daily basis leads to selfish individuals or plays a vital role in their development. Although the latter view can be true in some aspects, in my opinion, the former view seems to be more convincing. On the one hand, advocates of the view of giving children the freedom to make choices on daily matters such as food, clothes and kinds of entertainment lay their argument on several reasons. One of them is that making decisions is of vital importance in their later life. In other words, it is true when considering it as one of the essential soft skills that contribute significantly to a person’s success in the future. In addition, being decisive from an early age means an independent child. To be more specific, allowing children to make their own choices can reduce the overreliance on helicopter parents, and therefore facilitate their independence as well as the sense of responsibility for what they choose. On the other hand, I hold a firm belief that children can become arrogant and prioritize their own wishes regardless of surrounding people’s advice if they are free to decide everyday matters. First of all, it is human nature that dominates the behaviours of a person when they are given too much freedom according to some psychologists. When children can do everything as they desire, they are likely to ignore and underestimate adults’ opinions, becoming more stubborn and selfish. Besides, as a matter of fact, children are not fully aware of distinguishing rights and wrongs, so they may have misleading choices such as overeating fast food, wearing sexual and unsuitable clothes or watching inappropriate contents that pose a serious threat to their development. Therefore, parental moderation should be implemented to some extent. In conclusion, it can be beneficial to allow young children to make decisions on what affects their daily life, yet I am more convinced that this is likely to harm children and generate self-arrogant generations in the long run.