In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In many countries, citizens' lifespan is now longer compared to the past. There is an opinion that says an ageing community creates problems for the government. Others think that there are advantages if society has a more elderly population. I’m convinced by the idea that ageing people create trouble for the government. On the one hand, some people claim that there are benefits when humanity has more elderly people. Honestly, society has a high elderly population we can learn more experiences which the old adults build up and impart to future generations. Moreover, when the country has a large number of elderly citizens we also have a large amount of candy striper activities to construct benefits for communities and non-profit organizations. This reason can support the government to strengthen social solidarity and support systems. On the other hand, it is clear that older adults cause trouble for the government and humanity. First of all, the elderly population is the main problem that leads to higher healthcare costs, for example, old age increases the frequency of age-related diseases so it puts the medical sector into difficult situations regarding technology and facilities. Secondly, the elderly population is in economic recession because of the young workforce shortages and it brings out many disadvantageous consequences such as economic are significant decrease. In addition, one of the problems is families have to pay more attention to older adults, they have to make sure that the mental health of the elderly is in a constant state and it will affect the work-life balance of the working-age population. In conclusion, there will always be two different opinions. In my opinion, I suppose that owning many elderly population in society will put great pressure on the government and economic sectors. Besides that, the family members carry a big responsibility.