In many parts of the world, famous people are regarded as role models and they have an increasing influence on the young. Is this a positive or negative development?

Famous people have increasingly become role models for the youth in many countries. However, I argue that this trend poses more drawbacks than benefits. It is somewhat true that celebrities have the potential to motivate their fans and audiences in certain regards. In truth, famous actors, musicians, and athletes can, on some occasions, inspire people through demonstrations of perseverance, talent, or philanthropy. This can arouse admiration in young people and motivate them to pursue excellence and success. Nevertheless, overemphasis on famous figures threatens to obscure occupations that make infinitely more meaningful contributions to society, such as teaching, healthcare, engineering, and community service work. People in these esteemed professions significantly improve society with their tremendous efforts, yet receive inadequate recognition relative to their importance. More problematically, the lifestyles portrayed by some celebrities are objectionable in several ways. First, the glamor enjoyed and flaunted by celebrities can lead impressionable youths to formulate unrealistic expectations about different aspects of life. This can negatively impact their self-image and well-being, especially in adolescent girls who face unattainable beauty standards as a result of following, and being influenced by, female pop stars or actresses. Another issue worth noting is that many famous people are prone to making controversial and harmful statements, many of which can be considered hate speech against particular groups of people. If their followers are not discerning enough, they might adopt such hateful attitudes, thus further endangering those in vulnerable positions. In conclusion, while celebrities have the ability to inspire audiences in some instances, over-idolization of their influence risks undermining more substantive role models and cultivating unhealthy priorities in young people. Thus, I hold that placing famous people in the position of role models is an overall negative development.