When you learn a foreign language, all four skills (listening, reading, speaking, and writing) are equally important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past decade, people commuting to countries across the globe for innumerable reasons like education, business and travel have been growing significantly every year. Moreover, this trend has made it important to learn the language of the other country for a smooth experience in a foreign land. There are different perspectives on the most efficient ways of learning a new language. However, I believe that it is equally important to learn the fundamental skills of listening, reading, speaking and writing to be able to understand the smaller details and make the best use of them. To commence with, it is obvious that everyone is very comfortable in their mother-tongue or national languages. Needless to say, this is because,since birth, our kith and kin keep speaking the language around us. Our mind saves the references of the snapshots that are shown to us when talking. Most of the text that we encounter in our daily life is in these languages and all of these aspects when combined together result in us making proficient in the language. Furthermore, when one needs to learn a third language, the same patterns should be followed to ensure that one is able to convey their thoughts with the same ease as with their first or second language. For instance, one of the applications - Duolingo, which is used by over 300 million users worldwide for learning over 67 languages has implied similar mechanisms for their users to ingrain the finer details of a new language. Also, the testimonials by the users of the applications clearly show how learning all the skills of the language have helped them in achieving their goals. To conclude, I would like to pen down that the above examples show clearly that for being able to learn a new language, it is necessary to give equal importance to all the four fundamentals of a language.