After completing High School and before going to college or university, some students take a year of either for work or travel. What do you think is better traveling or working? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches.

Some students after completing their secondary schools take one year break from the studies because they want to do some work or to travel somewhere. Although both the approaches have merits and demerits, I believe that instead of working in this tenure, travelling is better for their personal development. Firstly, the utmost advantage of working for a short time frame after completion of their early studies is they have a clear idea of what is trending in the market. Consequently, it would help them in selecting their higher studies at the College or University. Secondly, they gain some market experience. This experience would help them in their future studies because they can easily relate this practical experience with the theoretical aspect of their studies. For instance, according to the report published by the New York Times, 70% of the students who opted for short- time work experience after their initial studies are more successful in their career compared to others. There are also some drawbacks to this approach. Due to inadequate education, sometimes students could not get a good job and this tends them to select an inappropriate career path. Moreover, another disadvantage of this approach is after working for a year, some people change their plan of study and decided to continue their current job. On the other hand, one benefit which the students would get from travelling in this time frame is getting relaxed. After spending more than 10 years in the studies, one needs some time to ease and fresh their thoughts and enjoy this movement before getting dive into the second phase of studies. Moreover, travelling students are getting a decent knowledge of what is going around the world. They could meet with students and professionals around the world, and see what the rest of the world is doing. This will help them in deciding their future career. The demerit of this approach is students waste their time, and their class-fellows would be ahead of them in the studies. Also, they could not justify this one -year gap in their CV. To conclude, I would like to reinstate that there are both benefits and the drawbacks of working or travelling after secondary schools and one cannot overtake the others.