Wealth does not necessarily guarantee happiness. To what extent do you agree with this statement? Provide reasons for your answer. Include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Having money in abundance does not mean that one will be satisfied. I completely agree with that statement. Firstly, to earn a higher income, people have to work longer hours at the expense of their physical and mental well-being. Some individuals who wish for a higher salary put extreme effort into their job, and work overtime to earn extra bonuses or try their best to receive promotions for better wages. However, this may take a toll on their mental health as they are always under large amounts of stress to perform their best every day, and failure is unacceptable. Moreover, working extended hours will result in less time for exercise, which can increase the risk of diseases such as diabetes, obesity, and coronary heart disease. For instance, many office workers sit all day long without much exercise. This resulted in a large number of workers developing illnesses that affected their work performance. Secondly, certain individuals become greedy for even more cash, and may resort to illegal means to prosper. Not everyone will be contented with what they have and will wish for more. Some are even willing to break the law to gain wealth. It is very common for businessmen to constantly take bribes, commit fraud or embezzlement as they believe that their own salary is not good enough. Therefore, even with a large sum of finances, they will never be happy with it and always crave more. In conclusion, I believe that having a large amount of funds does not contribute to success or fulfilment in life. In fact, I think that it may hinder us from achieving happiness due to the drawbacks of earning income.