Some people think that the government should strictly control the supply of fresh water, as the resources are limited. While others think we can use as much as we want. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Freshwaterwater is one of the most precious natural resources that people have. They have different views concerning whether the government should control the supply of it or not. Although there is some truth in claiming that government should not control fresh water ’s supply, I am inclined to believe that governments intervene in controlling this supply is important. On the one hand, there are two principal reasons why some people believe that the government should not control the freshwater resources. First and foremost, it is a renewable natural resource which existed since the Earth creature. To illustrate this, a recent study conducted by the American Environmental Reserve Association (AERA) in April 2019, which analyzed the water of 29 rivers and 100 lakes in different locations on the world, found that these freshwaterwater bodies renew their water every 50 years as they are renewing about 10% of their water every 10 years. As this shows, the proportion of water bodies not only are they stable in terms of their amounts, but they also renewable. Then, regulating the provisions of freshwaterwater supply would not benefit the human being as water naturally preserve itself. Advocates of this approach are also keen to mention that enjoying the country’s natural resources is a quintessential right of its citizens. They found controlling the freshwaterwater resources prevents them from/to enjoy their lives as government monitor their water usage. They suggest initiatives to raise individuals’ awareness about the overuse of freshwaterwater. Some of them mention the water bills in Egypt, for example, contain a diagram to show Egyptian citizens their country’s consumption of freshwaterwater which motivates them to avoid water misuse. However, I found this thought is rather ill-founded since controlling water supply has a plethora of benefits. On the other hand, I would side with those who suppose that regulating freshwater supplies is crucial. Initially, this would benefit the environment. Sustaining the natural balance of the environment reflects positively on our life. Climate Change, for instance, affects most of our daily activities as it has a negative impact on many species which deteriorated their food chains and caused undesirable influences on human’s life. If we had done a number of measures in advance, we would have prevented this natural change consequences. This makes it clear that government should intervene to stop any irresponsible usage of freshwaterwater to save our habitat. An additional point is that, controlling freshwaterwater supply would probably help us to face any natural threats. In other words, as we are living in a changing world, natural threats might happen and we would need all of our resources to tackle any potential problems. Hence, if the government plan its citizens' usage of freshwaterwater supply, this would save us. To conclude, despite the existence of some favours against governmental control of freshwater supply due to water nature and their rights, I entirely support the idea of controlling this resource by the government because this has immediate benefits in sustaining the environment and our life.