Overpopulation in many major urban centres around the world is a major problem.What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

The increase in the number of people who live in urban cities has been a major concern in recent times. This is owing to the problems that it has led to. This essay will explore the reasons for this increase and in addition, ways we can fix the issue. Firstly, a huge consequence of overpopulation is the strain it causes to the available resources in modern cities. Although, it cannot be gainsaid that the options for work and better livelihood that these places have are far more than what is obtainable in non-urban centres. To solve this, rural towns need to be upgraded, they need to be provided with amenities, job opportunities and various other facilities that will result in a decrease in the rural-urban migration. Secondly, another challenge that modern towns face is the pollution that is caused by having too many people in a particular location. It has been researched and found that people who live in urban states have more health challenges than their rural counterparts. To illustrate, we have challenges like issues with respiration and an overall drop in life expectancy. More residents mean more cars on the road. Due to this, we deal with both air and noise pollution. The solution to this is to develop better public transport systems in modern locations. This will go a long way in discouraging the use of private vehicles. Finally, to conclude, citizens migrate in a bid to find better opportunities. Even though it is not a bad thing to do, we have seen that over time, many challenges are borne from it. If these options of a better life are brought to them instead, we will see a surprising decline in the number of folks who go to metropolitan states.