Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a popular saying that goes, "when in Rome, act like the Romans". I believe this is an appropriate statement that mirrors my opinion regarding how tourists behave in countries that they go on holidays in. Others think that any country which opens its doors to visitors should also be receptive of their different cultures. Firstly, welcoming cultural differences is the first step in promoting integration. As long as it is nothing offensive, it is not wild to expect this from nations that have a booming tourism sector. Furthermore, having people from different places come to them is a much cheaper method of learning about various aspects of the world, this is as opposed to sinking resources to travel the world on your own volition. It is an exciting opportunity that ought to be explored. On the flip side, although I understand why many believe nations should welcome cultural differences, I believe that culture is very scared to any nation. It is the fabric that makes up who they are. Just because they are willing to accept foreigners should not automatically mean that they are to accept numerous strange traditions. For example, in many countries, women cover their hair, however, female tourists doing the same is a sign of respect, especially because their stay is temporary In conclusion, I strongly agree that individuals visiting new places are to imitate the customs and behaviours of indigenous dwellers. They chose to visit, they would have done plenty of research before planning any travels. Out of respect, I believe they owe this to the people. They can discuss how different it is where they come from, consequently leading to integration.