Some people think they have right to use as much freshwater as they want. Others believe governments should tightly control the use of fresh water as it is limited resource. Discuss both views and give your option.

Generally speaking, natural water is being depleted in at an unprecedented rate at the moment due to being used excessively by humans. While some consider that water belongs to the public so they can use it unlimited, other insist that it is necessary for the government to implement a restrict control over freshwater utilization as it is a finite resource. In my opinion, I maintain that we should use water cautiously otherwise we will suffer from the shortage in the future. One the one hand, some assert that water should be accessible by all people as it belongs to the general public. Some people use this resource freely without an awareness of a negative consequence. To clarify, a water shortage problem might be out of sight so it is out of the mind of people in rich nations, and as a consequence, they do not realize the importance of water conservation. For instance, provided citizens that never experience and suffer from water scarcity, they might feel it is unnecessary to use water carefully. However, I would suggest that it is the government’s responsibility to educate their people about how precious the water is and to implement strict rules to control the amount of water used by households as it is a limited resource. On the other hand, it is often argued that water is a scarce resource and it is predicted that 80% of water available will be consumed in the next 40 years. Therefore, it is essential for a government to monitor and thoroughly manage the use of water by imposing stricter laws. For example, imagine that every household in Thailand is limited an amount of water used not exceeding 100 to 300 baths a month, although they are willing to pay more in order to use water unlimited. Consequently, the country can reduce water utilization and preserve it for the next generation. It seems to me that it is important for the government to tightly control the use of water to make sure that it will be available for our offspring. In conclusion, although freshwater is a natural resource which all people have a right to get access freely, individual should be aware of the value of water and make a judicious use. I would maintain that the most effective way we can preserve freshwater to our next generation is to impose a tight restriction on the water use.