More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

It is an undeniable fact that big cities are equipped with better facilities in terms of education, jobs as well as the health sector. Owing to this, It has been observed that people are shifting from rural areas to urban regions in order to get these facilities. However, they are unaware of the fact that one may face many difficulties while living in the city. This essay will discuss these problems faced by urbanites followed by possible solutions to these difficulties. To begin with, one of the major problem witnessed by the residents of the metropolitans is the high cost of living. Due to the less space available in the urban belts, rents are generally on the higher side. This can put pressure on the pocket of an average middle-class person. Apart from this, in spite of more opportunities in the city, it is a daunting task to get a decent job because of the high competition among more candidates. All these factors are contributing to financial instabilities in the cities. In addition, the environment is less suitable to live in the city as compared to the countryside. Since cities have more industries as well as motor vehicles, pollution emitted by these sources is at an alarming level. Thus, it is more likely that the health of common citizens can be afflicted while living in the cities. For example, according to WHO, respiratory problems among residents of metro cities are more observed in cities due to the poor quality of air in the cities. This clearly depicts that it is difficult to maintain health standards in the city. Fortunately, these difficulties can be tackled by the government if it acts responsibly on the problems. First of all, governing authorities should invest in constructing high-rise building so that problem of housing can be resolved. This can ensure affordable house to anyone irrespective of his salary. Furthermore, the government ought to shift industrial area out of the city in the suburban region which can reduce the air pollution in the cities. This step would solve the problem of health issues among the residents as air will become cleaner. To illustrate, in 2017, the government of France succeeded in decreasing air pollution up to 50% by banning industries in the radius of 20 Km from the centre of the city. Such steps can be taken by other governments to improve the quality of life in metro cities. To conclude, in order to seek better facilities in the cities, people are migrating from villages to big cities, nevertheless, they have to face more difficulties especially in the beginning like expensive houses, unsuitable living conditions, and so on. These problems can be resolved by the government by investing in infrastructure to ensure houses to everyone and by bringing reforms related to industries for improving the environment in cities.