Open plan offices offer a better working environment for staff than a normal office. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people say that companies that have open-plan offices can provide a higher quality atmosphere for their employees compared with traditional offices. I totally agree with this since then individuals can easily communicate and have a more relaxed workspace. The main reason why open-plan offices are better is that the communication between members of staff is more effective. Colleagues can reach each other just by turning around which facilitates teamwork. As a result, all members of the team are constantly in touch and do not get stuck in any tasks because they can always ask for help from their colleagues. To illustrate, engineering companies started to adopt this concept in their offices and managed to reduce the time for delivery of complex projects considerably which also boosted the morale of their employees. Another reason is that open-plan offices provide a more relaxed environment for staff. Offices without walls surrounding and isolating people generate atmospheres where employees can be less stressed because most of the time they do not even feel like they are at work. Although some individuals may think that this is terrible for business since people will not be as concentrated, it is quite the opposite. Members of staff feel like they are among friends and are more inclined to help others instead of focusing only on their tasks. For example, Google adopted open-plan offices and are considered one of the bests companies to work in and each year have more profit. In conclusion, I reaffirm my opinion that open-plan offices offer a superior working environment since members of staff can communicate better and are less stressed which leads them to work as a team to achieve the company’s goals and have improved performances.