There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather than a large family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a small family rather than a large family.

In the current era, more and more people prefer to have a small family rather than a large one. Firstly, this essay will discuss the possibility to combine career and children as the main benefit of this tendency and, secondly, it will analyse one possible drawback, namely the case that parents might become overcaring and overattentive to their offsprings. To begin with, on the one hand, the main benefit of having only 1 or 2 infants is that adults remain relatively free from an enormous number of obligations and are able to combine their work and self-development with house life. This is because of the fact that not only is it much easier to raise only 1 infant due to the fact that it is less stressful and time-consuming buy also it might be more balanced and does not look like a chaos. As a result, if both mothers and fathers feel more calm and relaxed there will be fewer arguments and lower tension. For example, recent research has shown that mothers who have 1 child have a chance to develop outside the family and feel 20% less stressed comparing to those who take care of more than 4 offsprings. However, on the other hand, this tendency might lead to the fact that parents will become overattentive to their children and will not give them a chance and freedom to explore this world. The reason for this may be the case that not only do adults want to secure their heirs and protect them from unexpected difficult obstacles but also because they are afraid of being unnecessary. Therefore, specifically, a mother might be a barrier between the real world and new experiences and their child that, in turn, does not give him an opportunity to become independent. For instance, some researchers suggest that it is much more difficult for those who are the only child in a family to separate and start an independent life alone. Eventually, to conclude, having a small family is likely to give parents an opportunity to develop in different areas simultaneously with parenting, but also it might make them overprotecting and they will separate their children from the world and exploration.