More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

Cities are often seen as a place of opportunity, but there are also some major drawbacks of living in a modern metropolis. From my perspective, I believe the government should do much more to improve city life for the average inhabitants. The main problem for people who hope to migrate to large metropolis is that the cost of living is much higher than it is in a small town or village. Inhabitants of cities have to pay a much higher price of housing, transport and even food. Another issue is that urban areas tend to suffer from social problems such as high crime and poverty rate in comparison with rural areas. Furthermore, the air quality in cities is often poor due to pollution from commuting, and streets and public transport system are often overcrowded. As a result, living in a city can be unhealthy and stressful. However, there are various steps that the city council can take to tackle these problems. Firstly, the authority could invest in the building of affordable or social housing to reduce living costs. Secondly, politicians have the power to ban vehicles from city centres and promote the use of clean public transport, which help to reduce both air pollution and traffic congestion. In London, for example, the introduction of transportation charge has helped to curb the traffic problem. A third option is to develop provincial towns and rural areas, by moving industries and jobs to there, in order to reduce pressure on major cities. In conclusion, the government could certainly implement a range of measures to enhance the quality of life for all city inhabitants.