Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As modern-day stresses increase, people are looking for ways to relieve that stress. Hence, the increased popularity of shopping. As the debate on its positive and negative results are ongoing, I am going to discuss why that shift happened, as well as mention the possible consequence it has. First and foremost, Shopping has become quite the popular activity because of its positives that include, but are not limited to, it being a stress-reliever. Especially with how difficult it is nowadays to lead a professional life, people are looking for ways to relieve that tension. For instance, many of my friends go shopping after they have had a bad day, in order to lift up their moods. A recent study published by Harvard Business Review stated that the average person is five times more likely to make a purchase if he or she is stressed. Secondly, going on trips to the shops can be a fun social activity that allows old friends to catch up. For example, the majority of my outings with my friends have been to the mall, where we also tend to spend money and buy a couple of items. In other words, the social aspect of shopping is one of the main reasons it increased in popularity. This trend will have tangible effects on both society and its members. While we, as individuals, might suffer financially to pay the bills of our purchases, which is one of the drawbacks of shopping, the society will benefit because its economy is prospering. Additionally, more workers will be able to start their own endeavours to support their families. The more popular shopping becomes, the more small businesses will benefit. Moreover, because shopping is a social activity, its increased popularity makes the social bonds between people stronger. To give an example, had it not been for the malls, I and my friends would not meet up as regularly as we do now. To conclude, more and more people are resorting into shopping to fill their free time with. That increase in demand could be attributed to the positive social and psychological effects it has. Although the country's economy benefit from this increase, its citizens will face difficulties keeping up with their increasing expenses.