In many countries, imprisonment is the most common solution to crime. However, some people believe that better education will be effective solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the rising figures in the crime rate are one of the major cause of concern for a large number of nations. In my opinion, although, improvement in the education system can bring some control on this problem, it can never irradicate it completely. In this essay, we will understand why the imprisonment of the defaulters would be an appropriate course of action to decrease illegal activities. To begin with, teaching the pupils to become a civilized citizen at the school would certainly encourage the students to become a responsible member of society. However, it cannot guarantee that they will not commit any crime in the coming future. In other words, educating children to adhere to their social responsibilities, does not offer any assurance of their behaviour and actions in the time ahead. For example, one of my school friend who was brilliant as well as a well-mannered child during our childhood is now in jail for his involvement in some illegal work. Thus, the possibility of a positive outcome, in this case, this case seems to be unfavourable. On the other hand, imprisonment is a punishment which no individual would want to serve. This is because it involves a strict environment, isolation from the rest of the world, restricted choices and uncomfortable living. For instance, I have seen on the movies that the prisoners have to live with other offenders who can be more dangerous and the place which is given to stay are even too small with no lights. Therefore, the overall image of prison is so threatful that individuals would fear going there before getting involved in any offence. To conclude, despite being an appropriate model to minimize the crime rate, the education system can not guarantee the removal of the un-civilized activities and hence, the punishment of imprisonment would be the most suitable option to decrease the rising crime cases.