It has been said that reading for pleasure is better in developing imagination and language skills than watching TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that reading is more beneficial than watching the television for enhancing imaginative and linguistic skills. I agree with this assertion to a large extent and reasons to strengthen my viewpoint are put forth in the subsequent paragraphs. On the one hand, spending time in front of the television can improve speaking skill which is imperative for learning a new language. It is primarily due to the fact that the pronunciation, which is essential for speaking, can be effectively learnt through listening to the native speaker of the language. This aspect is offered by television which provides innumerable programmes and films of different languages. For example, in 2016, schools in Japan introduced TV rooms in order to make primary school children familiar with foreign languages, thereby assisting individuals to learn a language in an effective way. On the other hand, books are not only considered as an impeccable method to learn a language, but also it is the only way to improve imagination. First of all, the different aspect of languages such as grammar and vocabulary can be analysed in a proper manner through written content. Since learner can easily grasp the grammar by spending more time on the reading part, it has proven to be a more efficient way. Not only this, a case in point is that more vocabulary is often used while writing a particular script than speaking, thus, reading is the best way to learn new words of the language. Furthermore, imagination power can be increased by thinking about different characters in a novel which is not possible in case of watching TV as pictures present a clear view of the theme and characters. Not only this, while reading poems and phrases, every reader interpret the different meaning of the author's viewpoint. Therefore, brainstorming on reading poems and novels aids the readers in widening their imagination. To conclude, even though watching TV improves speaking skills, I still believe reading is not only more conducive for the learner in terms of mastering other aspects of a language such as a vocabulary and grammar, but also raising their imaginative power.