It is observed that communication among family members in today’s times is less as compared to the past. However, some people do not think so. Do you agree or disagree?

Although some people opine that interaction among family members in this day and age is less as compared to the previous times; others, however, contradict to this view. In my opinion, I completely agree with the above viewpoint not only because nowadays people spend more time with electronic devices but also due to their hectic work schedules. The prominent reason why there is less interaction among members of families is that people spend most of their time with their electronic gadgets. In other words, in this era of enhanced technology, people devote more time to watching television or accessing social networking websites for prolonged hours. This has separated them from the real world and they communicate very less with their friends and relatives. For example, youngsters these days spend more time socializing on social networking websites such as Facebook or watching television rather than interacting with their kith and kin. This has created a social gap among family members even after staying under one roof. Another reason to consider the above viewpoint is the hectic work schedules of people. As the necessities and requirements of today’s generation have been increasing day by day, almost all family members seek to earn more and more to have all materialistic things in their possessions. As a result, they work for longer hours and sometimes do not even talk for days or weeks with each other. In most middle classes, for example, it is seen that both parents and children go for work to earn their livelihood. However, some people argue that people these days interact more as compared to the past owing to the culture of nuclear families. Due to having fewer members in families, they get a chance to communicate more and they do all activities together. But, I refute with this view because it is very rare to find such families in today’s era. To conclude, I wholeheartedly agree that communication among family members have reduced owing to frantic work schedules and increased usage of electronic gadgets.