Too much money is spent in maintaining and repairing old buildings, some people think they should be knocked down and give way to modern building. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays we have a big amount of old buildings need to be maintaining and repairing. Some people think those building should be replaced by the modern building. However, I believe some buildings need to be rebuild, but most of the old buildings should not give up. On the one hand, with the urbanization process, the city rapidly expanded the built-up area in a very short period of time, some buildings in the city centre have no time to removed. For example, the urban villages in Guangzhou city are surrounded by rising skyscrapers, associated with squalor, overcrowding and social problems. Those building should be replaced by modern buildings. On the other hand, it is undoubted that the ancient buildings contribute essential roles for historical span. These households are milestones for the human to rewind memorable timelines for their ancestors. Money, as a result, is aimed to invest to repair and protect these historical values. For instance, Notre Dame de Paris, which is one of the most favourable tourist attractions in the world. It, therefore, should be maintained to protect the culture. Moreover, people are more likely to be attracted to ancient buildings, thus, these buildings should make a significantly huge amount of money for the social foundation. In conclusion, ancient buildings should be protected by time while there are still many ways to construct modern households. I personally disagree with the topic ideas through the mentioned reasons.