As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people travelling, there is a growing demand for more flights what problem does this have on the environment what measures could be taken to solve the problem

Holidays abroad are a very popular choice nowadays, but sadly this could have a negative impact on the environment such as air pollution and global warming. However, there are some possible solutions to tackle and overcome namely, the promotion of local holidays as well as introducing pollution taxes for the travellers. Arguably, the air pollution is one of the most concerning factors at the moment, thus the numerous illnesses related to it. Asthma is one of the breathing difficulties caused by the gases found in the atmosphere according to the specialists. For instance, the rate of the patients in the hospital showing symptoms of asthma has increased by 50 percent in the last century. Secondly, the climate change is endangering the population, hence the increased demand for flights. Climate warming, in a few years time could affect the temperatures required to maintain the natural habitat for certain species, and as a, result these would travel to the cities to find food resources. The solutions to overcome this issues should be a priority for the bodies responsible to deal with it. Turning to the solutions, the most effective could be the introduction of taxes for the tourists who are taking more than one trip a year abroad. This would be beneficial also for the authorities, because the funds could be used to improve other fields where financial support is not available. Another solution could be the promotional campaigns of the local places to attract tourists to spend their holidays within the country. This, would benefit the local businesses as well as the economy of the country. For example, in a survey carried out by the Cotswold Holidays the participants explained that they prefer travelling to another country for relaxation, because the local places are hard to be found on the internet and the details of the place are not accessible. In conclusion, the environment could be air pollution-free and climate warming could be significantly reduced if the authorities are considering placing taxes for the air travellers as well as encouraging local businesses to promote more their offers.