Today, more and more people use robots to do tasks at home and at work. Do you think it is a positive or negative development? Why?

With the advent of technology, robots have increasingly become popular. They are now being used for several purposes at home as well as at work. I believe, this is a positive development and the reasons will be explained in this essay. There are a number of uses of robots at home. One of them is to perform household chores. They offer great help in carrying out daily activities like cleaning and mowing the lawn. These machines are called the home robots and the latest version called the vacuum robot follows instructions and can hoover the entire house on its own. Moreover, they can be used to safeguard residential places. There are robots that can be used instead of surveillance cameras to watch guard homes. Indeed, they can even scream "Police! Freeze!" if a burglar breaks in. Furthermore, the use of robots in the workplace has plenty of benefits. They can execute tasks that may pose a risk to life if performed by man. For example, robots are used in the military for anti-submarine operations and laying mines which are extremely dangerous to humans. Additionally, they make work easier for other employees at different workplaces by sharing jobs. For instance, robots are currently used in many pharmacies in the US to stock up racks as well as to carry medicines from the shelves to the counters. In conclusion, robots are one of the greatest inventions of man. In my opinion, they have made life easier by helping at home and achieving tasks at work that man once thought was impossible.