Some people believe that elderly people now have a better life than in the past, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a debate about whether the older generation is living a better life at present; some say that retirees live a better life than in the past, while others oppose this argument. I believe that elderly individuals are living a better lifestyle, as they have more opportunities, such as better healthcare and modern technologies, which help them stay in touch. Proponents of older people living better lives in the past argue that families used to spend more time together and respect the elderly more. As time passes, many families now prefer to live independently and individually. This is because young individuals lead their parents to a nursing home. For this reason, the elderly residents often feel longevity. For example, in some countries like Japan, many elderly people live in nursing homes, since young adults are often busy with work and cannot take care of their parents full-time. Hence, this is, of course, a sign of disrespect for the elderly. However, I think that retirees now have a better lifestyle, as the advent of new advanced technologies has changed people's quality of life. One of the advantages of today's life is that better healthcare helps people live longer and healthier lives as opposed to the past. Elderly people can talk to doctors online without going to the hospital, and they are given smart devices that can monitor heart rate, blood pressure, and health conditions easily, which is why it is helping through new treatments and medicine. Older people live longer and healthier lives. To illustrate, in South Korea, many hospitals use AI and smart health-monitoring devices in order to support elderly patients in detecting illnesses and receiving faster treatment. To conclude, while some think that many older generations lived better in the past, such as spending time together, others feel that older people are living a better lifestyle nowadays. In my opinion, they have a better life now compared to the past, such as better healthcare and living longer, as well as a healthier lifestyle.