n many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

In the contemporary era, the crime rate has emerged as one of the gravest concerns globally, which has led to the employment of security cameras. Although some believe that video surveillance has deterred crime considerably, others oppose this notion owing to the fear of privacy invasion. Nevertheless, the positives of security cameras, in the context of curtailing crime rates, overpower their negatives, which are explored in the impending paragraphs. On the one hand, opponents of video cameras present in public places cite the intrusion aspect of this method. To explain this, since these cameras record and scrutinize everything on the streets, this involves a greater risk of being filmed in privacy as well. For instance, those who are against the usage of public cameras, point to the evidence of privacy leakage incidents that stem from such securities. Admittedly, public cameras do detoxify street crime, however, at the expense of intruding privacy, which very often is claimed as a prohibitive measure. On the other hand, well-spread cameras may decline numerous minor delinquencies. In other words, several crimes, such as shoplifting, burglary and pickpocketing are well-lessened due to the constant recording by these cameras. For instance, not only may petty shoplifters and muggers hesitate to take unlawful steps, but also may be aware of the consequences of being caught by such security checks. Similarly, continuous video filming of public streets provides long-lasting shreds of evidence, which can be utilised at any point in time and place to spot the delinquent. This implies that patrol police staff would no longer be required to document crimes and catch thefts as these tasks would be carried out by the cameras. For example, in several regions, security cameras have replaced the roles of patrol police due to which they apportioned certain duties and responsibilities to the police that security cameras fail to undertake. Hence, there are numerous advantages of security cameras which include minimising expenditure of staff members as well as reducing street crimes. To encapsulate, it can be concluded that despite the interference caused by security cameras, there are several advantages, ranging from decreased petty crimes to a substantial drop in human effort, that overpower the drawbacks. Nevertheless, prime locations should be chosen to introduce cameras where not only may cameras be able to film social events, but also dwellers may feel safe and secure.