Too much money is spent in maintaining and repairing old buildings, some people think they should be knocked down and give way to modem building. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Traditional buildings have their own importance. Some people opine that these should be demolished due to heavy maintenance costs whilst others have a contrasting viewpoint. Although these costs are huge, I completely disagree with this statement that these should be knocked down because old buildings are cultural heritage and useful. Firstly, old buildings represent conventional architecture which represents culture. These are an attraction for tourists. Many travellers specially visit different countries to have a glimpse of these. These are the symbol of pride of nations. For instance, Taj Mahal of India is famous globally, millions of spectators visit India to see this. If these are demolished, tourists will not visit. Preserving the architecture of the old times is the national responsibility; however, these should not be knocked down. Secondly, these are useful in multiple ways. Governments can earn money through these. If a ticket price is imposed to visit these, a good amount can be earned. Further, these can be used for some purposes. For instance, an old building can be used as a college or university, an old palace is used as a college in India. Hence, in place of completely demolishing, these can be used as a college, library and garden. Building a completely new construction will be a waste of resources and money which is an unwise decision. In conclusion, old buildings are national heritage and symbolic. These are beneficial for nations in a myriad of ways. I strongly disagree with this notion that these should be knocked down and modern building be constructed.