Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Through time, modern society became overzealous about high performance, constant production and fully dedication to professional life. Although there are rewards for this behaviour, I believe that the disadvantages of insufficient time for relaxation and joyful moments unrelated to work can cause damages and overcome its advantages. One of the drawbacks is that working for long hours might provoke serious health problems. There is a recommendation that repetitive activities, such as spending long periods of time in front of a computer, should be avoided since it elevates body tension. For instance, it is widely known that back and neck pains are related to wrong posture and excessive stillness. In fact, people should always pay attention to the amount of time under tensed and relaxed positions once some issues can be unreversible over time. Another downside is the consequences of not having enough time for leisure activities. A pause in a busy day-to-day life is essential to take care of mental and physical health. For example, the interval reserved to calmly eat, take a walk without hurry and feeling pleasure at the end of the day may reduce stress and anxiety, therefore preventing burnout crisis and even increasing productiveness. However, an intense dedication to work might bring some reward as well. Moreover, hard work is commonly read as reliability and ambition and often can result in promotions and recognition. An example of that is when young professionals want to elevate their salary through commissions or having a part in profits conquered by their efforts. To sum up, the disadvantages of prioritizing work over leisure surpass its advantages. Nonetheless, there might be reasons for making this choice over time depending on what is most cared for each one.