Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Show essays »

It is argued that, shopping is considered as the most famous time off activity whilst others believe that it has both advantages and drawbacks. This essay presents that advertisements are the primary agents for this cause and economic hardships is the greatest effect it has on the person and the community with a reasoned conclusion. To begin with, commercials play a significant role in increased purchasing habbit habits of an individuals. Moreover, because of the convincing advertisements shown on various media, several people think that if they possess certain things or wear trending clothes, they are respected in the society. Thus, numerous citizens go shopping to buy those things in their free time. For example, a recent study conducted by The Newyork Times found that 2 out of 5 people go shopping to buy a product, they saw in an advertisement. On the other hand, this pattern causes financial hardships to an individuals and the society. In other words, many people take loan from another person or the financial institution to satisfy their shopping habbit habit. This action puts them under a financial debt that they cannot repay. To exemplify, most of the college students buy new clothes every week with a credit card, eventhough they know that they will not be able to clear the credit on time. Hence, the shopping trend has negative effect on overall community. In conclusion, purchasing new things has become highly popular activity in the free time of an individuals as a result of the advertisements on different media, however, it has counter effects on both people and the society by putting them in debts that they cannot pack back.