What are the possible effects of living long on an individual and on the whole society? Give some examples for and against according to your knowledge.

The survival period of the individuals has increased in recent time. Some people believe that this trend has positive effects while others refute this claim. In this essay, both the viewpoints will be critiqued before reaching a reasoned conclusion. On the one hand, there are groups of people who consider a long life has benefits on individuals and society. The main reason for believing this is that society is able to utilise the experience of the matured people for the growth of the economy of the country. Furthermore, this group of grown-ups can help young people to take mature decisions in their personal as well as professional life. Thus, the positive implications of rising in the life span of the people on the masses and society are clear. On the other hand, some consider the extended life of humans can have numerous disadvantages. One main drawback will be the swelling in the world's population since the death rate will be declined. As a consequence of this, the pressure on the local resources will be increased and still some people will not be able to receive the required resources. In addition, with the increase in the numbers of the aged population, there will also increase in the responsibilities of the young generation and thereby, affect their career and family life. Therefore, the negative impacts of the increased life period of the people are difficult to debunk. After analysing both the views, it is felt that for the well-being of the individuals and society, the life span should not be increased beyond a certain limit.