It is often said that crime is one of the main things that make the quality of life poorer. Crime in developed countries is one of the biggest problems in society. What are the causes of this problem and what measures can be taken to reduce it?

Many people believe that without crime and violence the overall quality of life would increase drastically. In my view, the main reason for this issue is the government's inability to provide basic resources and opportunities for everyone and it could be fixed by supporting those in need by giving a monthly allowance. Because individuals don't have enough food, money for healthcare and other needs, they turn to various forms of crime. It is proven that the majority of criminals are people who break the law to afford food and medicine. Moreover, they feel like the government does not care about their problems and does nothing to solve them. If people behind bars had gotten assistance or financial help during a tough time, the crime rate would have been way lower. Obviously, each country has a strict budget and can't give out money to every single citizen. However, since poverty is such a big issue, the idea of providing them with monthly allowance should be discussed. This would be particulary important for people living on the streets, with no hope of finding a decent job or a shelter. Consequently, their growing desire to abuse others or steal, in order to get resources, would lower. Additionally, there should be more security cameras installed and a bigger amount of police officers working to make sure that everyone is safe. Overall, people commit crimes because they feel as if that is their only option to sustain a normal life. To decrease the crime rate the country has to find ways to support the lower class both, financially and mentally, so that they are provided with the basic human necessities.