Health care should not be provided for free regardless of a person’s income. The health of a person is in their own hands and they should, therefore, be held accountable for that. Do you agree with this statement?

Health problems are the most common in everyone's life. It is true that one is responsible for his/her own health in most of the cases. However, this essay completely disagrees with the statement that health care should not be provided for free irrespective of earnings. This essay echos the opinion stated by two supportive ideas first, the cost involved in modern day's health amenities, and second, the external factors affecting a person's heath. Firstly, the expenditure spent on modern-day health care systems is exorbitant. For example, the salary of an average person in India is 75 rupees (1 dollar) a day. If an individual is hospitalised, his/her income will not be sufficient to meet the contemporary standards of medical treatment. The government needs to analyse this situation and come up with some special packages in order to help public- health, they should not only consider free medical therapy for some pay slabs but also bill wavier depending on the patient's standard. Secondly, a human is responsible for his/her own health, however, this need not hold true always. It is possible that because of some other's fault wide group of people may be affected. For Instance, let us take the example of Bhopal gas leak tragedy that happened in 1984, where an employee's fault to not inspect the gas pipelines properly has allowed to spread the gas in the entire city. Here, everyone had to suffer because of a single worker's negligence. In situations like these, it is essential to have free medical attention irrespective of salaries of patients. To summarize, it is not always that person's health is in his hands and the costs for medical attention nowadays is too higher than the person's income standards. These are the main factors why this essay disagrees to not having free medication at all. Upon detailed analysis, it can be said that the Government should consider free treatment and wavier of patient's bill based on income slabs for the greater good of the public.