Some people believe that success is earning money. Others believe that success is defined by personal happiness. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Success can be measured in many different ways. Some people think that happiness comes from a huge salary. Others believe that success has nothing to do with money, but is defined by happiness. Both have their supporters. This essay will examine both these views, and I will express my personal opinion. On the one hand, many believe that being able to earn money is the definition of personal success. This is because people are drawn to think that money achieves satisfaction. First, financial freedom is essential in one’s life. For example, research in India has proved that 40 per cent of its population who have housing are 70 per cent more pleased than others who don’t. Second, society today has reinforced the idea that owning things makes people happy. Money allows people to buy everything and anything they want, thus creating happiness. Finally, there is a belief that filling life with material goods is the measure of success. On the other hand, there is a belief that real achievement is simply being happy. They believe life isn’t about money, but it is about mental freedom. First, while someone can be very wealthy, they may not have a healthy mental state. For instance, in a recent survey, people put family, health, love, and lifestyle above money. Second, the saying that money can't buy happiness has merit. It can buy everything but happiness. Finally, if money is the yardstick of measuring happiness, then why is this not reflected in the suicide rate. A recent study revealed that rich people are more likely to kill themselves than poor ones. Moreover, financially stable individuals are less likely to feel satisfaction. In conclusion, in my opinion, real success is not money but being happy. It can be satisfying to be financially stable, but money itself doesn’t bring happiness or fulfilment. Liking who you are and what you do is more important.