In recent years, many local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays people prefer to shop in large shopping centres or modern retailers in malls as opposed to the old days where they used to buy groceries and other things from local shops in their neighbourhood or other nearby areas. In my opinion, I firmly voice that this is a negative development owing to the fact that many small shops might suffer huge loss or even worse they might have to close their businesses permanently. One drawback of shopping from large retailers is that local produce and other products might not be available or stocked regularly. In addition, these shops do not have a close relationship with customers and hence they have no clue about the local needs of the neighbourhood. At present, quite popular retailers are open in malls and they house the standard groceries and other household needs, thereby missing the essential daily needs of the community. Another negative point to consider is that buying things from modern retail stores might have hidden costs which will eventually affect the cost of the products purchased there. For example, supermarkets such as Star Bazaar and Reliance Fresh are lodged in most of the malls and we tend to flock there to meet our grocery shopping needs. The cost to rent a place, hire staff to run the shop and all other maintenance costs are adjusted in the product cost. This might directly affect our personal budget, and in fact not many can afford to continue buying in those fancy shops. Finally, the crucial effect of shopping in malls is that small business owners suffer huge financial loss and eventually will end up closing their business. This will leave them unemployed which will affect their family life. In other words, losing small businesses would directly have an impact in the economy of our country and eventually GDP growth will face downfall. Moreover, this will impact our country's position in the international market. In conclusion, people shopping from malls is inversely propotional to the GDP growth index of our country. To avoid this situation, they should be encouraged to shop for their essential needs in the neighbouring stores.