Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, others think that zoos are useful to protect rare animals. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

There is an overwhelming consensus amongst individuals that zoos are not a convenient environment to keep animals in. Contrary to that view, others think that it is an advisable option for animals which are on the brink of extinction. In my opinion, the best way to see animals should be their own environment such as wildlife parks instead of zoos. The aim of this essay is to discuss both merits and demerits of this debate. On the one hand, keeping animals in cages has a negative impact on them both physically and even mentally. To illustrate that depression and eating disorders have been observed amongst species such as pandas and tigers. Furthermore, plenty of animals are suffering from a lack of adequate space in which they can move around freely. As a consequence of it, doubtlessly the right places for animals should be the environment that their ancestors lived in. In contrast, one possible benefit that may arise from this is that many endangered species may be saved from behemoth dangers of external threat, for example, illegal hunters and also overhunting. For instance, several wild animals have been killed in Africa due to the increase in the substantial numbers of poaching and illegal hunting activities. Despite the deterrent precautions imposed by the governments, these individuals are finding ways to continue their dishonourable behaviour. Moreover, in many Asian cultures, several creatures are seen as having medicinal properties and possible cures for diseases and as a result of that, authorities are desperate for keeping them safe. Therefore, there is a possibility for zoos to protect endangered animals from the bloody hands of illegal hunters. In conclusion, nevertheless, zoos have been viewed as ruthless and unsuitable places for animals and they ought to be closed as soon as possible, partially they can be the most rapid and effective way to conserve a new generation of rare animals.