Global warming is one of the biggest threats humans face in the 21st Century and sea levels are continuing to rise at alarming rates. What problems are associated with this and what are some possible solutions.

Climate change has been considered one of the significant perils in this century because it leads to dramatically increasing ocean levels. This essay will discuss the problem related to this phenomenon and suggest an effective solution. The most noticeable issue of rising sea levels is causing high-tide flooding. If the sea raises by two feet, it will swamp millions of peoples' houses with water because most of the world's cities have residential and industrial areas near to the coastline. A devastating consequence of this phenomenon would be to cause a massive loss of peoples' households and jobs, and therefore it would become more challenging for any government to recover. Japan is a prime example where millions of citizens lost their homes and relatives in 2011 due to Tsunami, and the fact the government was not able to compensate its people for their losses. The foremost solution to this problem is the establishment of flooding prevention systems, such as floodgates, dams, and flood barriers. This would help to stop the widespread water reaching to the populated regions; as a result, it provides significant protection against the rising tides. Holland is one of the most vulnerable countries to this issue, but it built enormous walls around the coastlines to restrict the flowing water and push it back to the sea. To sum up, it is clear that the high ocean levels caused by climate change could create a dreadful impact on peoples' lives and residences, but it can be resolved by building a robust flooding prevention system.