Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that the most appropriate way to improve citizens health is by expanding sports facilities, while others think that this wouldn't have much impact on their health and should consider other options. I believe that increasing sports facilities is not a solution as each individual has different health issues, alternatively spreading awareness for good health will encourage individuals to focus on their well-being. Though there are few individuals who believe in increasing sports facilities, so that people could benefit from them, it is certainly not necessary that all individuals are going to make optimum use of these facilities. As every person is not interested in sports and may find it boring. Also, there are many people who have heart problems and not allowed on medical grounds to perform any sports activity. Brisbane University, recently published a report on heart patients who are strictly not allowed to run and do any physical activity that gets their heart pumping fast. People need to be made aware of the ill-effects of bad- health and staying inactive. If people are rooted with a thought of maintaining a healthy lifestyle, the overall health of the citizens will start improving. This can be done by awareness campaigns in schools, colleges, hospitals and even parks which will eventually cover the mid-age and elderly people. For instance, The Healthy Citizens group is a trending subject in India, where a group of people talk about eating healthy and staying fit on weekends at public places like malls and restaurants. In conclusion, irrelevant of the beliefs that few people have about growing sports facilities for the betterment of the health of the individuals, this won't bring a drastic change in people's way of living. Instead, educating them about the bad-effects of living on the edge of an unhealthy lifestyle would serve as a better option.