Some people believe schoolchildren should help to create rules in their schools. Others say teachers alone should decide what the rules are. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nobody would dispute the fact that everyone should obey rules in society. While some people believe that only educators are allowed to participate in making rules in school, I hold the view that young students should be involved in as well. In this essay, I will discuss both sides and give reasons for my opinion. The reasons why young students should be involved in making rules are manifold. Firstly, it is true that children can learn from the decision-making process, and they can understand more about why rules are tremendously important. For example, children are more likely to follow the rules if their opinions are considered. Another key benefit is that these young students can learn how to make decisions, and this will help form their decision-making mind. Furthermore, it is obvious that children are in general more creative than adults, hence they can make the rules more interesting such as they can add more visuals. However, there are benefits when solely teachers are allowed to make rules. Adults are more mature than children because they have more life experience and more knowledge. If only educators were making rules, the process would be more efficient. For instance, adults know what is the best for their students, so multiple perspectives will still be considered. Although teachers are less creative than kids, rules are not supposed to be like arts, and they are supposed to be strict and clear. In conclusion, although some people would argue that only educators should make rules, I believe that there are more benefits when young students also involve in the process, such as their creativity can make the rules more interesting, they can learn from making decisions, and they will be more likely to follow the rules.