Some people think certain prisoners should be made to set up unpaid community work, instead of just being put behid the bars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Incarceration has been one of the effective penalties for convicts for centuries. Some people opine that the captives should be made to serve the community in lock-ups rather than just being jailed. I thoroughly support this opinion and believe that this would instigate more positive outcomes for both the culprits and communities. Firstly, if prisoners voluntarily serve the local people, various neglected communal tasks would be completed. Government servants often ignore multiple public responsibilities because of the lack of time, and unavailability of labour and sources. Take gardening at public places for example, which can be done by the convicts free of cost instead of hiring the employees, and spending tax money to pay them. Thus, taking advantage of the prisoners ' manpower can be constructive for society as a whole. Secondly, keeping the prisoners busy for the welfare of the local society can prove to be advantageous for their psychological well-being. A sedentary lifestyle provided in confinement can bring more destructive thoughts in the culprits' minds, and they might start planning criminal activities to implement after being released. Educated prisoners, for instance, can teach their fellows and deprived children without getting paid, and serve the people in the best manners. This can make them realize how beneficial it could be to help the locals and receive well wishes from them. Hence, I assume prisoners should be kept active even during their lock-up periods. To conclude, sentencing criminals to make them work voluntarily for the people can be a great initiative by the government. This, irrefutably, can bring out positive impacts for the criminals as well as the society, and can also bring a sense of responsibility among the formers.