Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued BY SOME that expanding prison sentences is the best way TO REDUCE THE crime rate, while others think various better feasible measures SHOULD BE IMPLEMENTED. ALTHOUGH the former view can be true TO SOME EXTENT, IN MY OPINION, the latter is more reasonable. On the one hand, there are several reasons why people believe that longer prison sentences can reduce THE crime rate. Firstly, RECEIVING longer prison sentences means that criminals have to suffer stricter punishments in jail. As a result, this SOMEHOW acts as a deterrent and prevents youngsters as well as OTHER people from committing an offence, therefore reduce crime in society. Secondly, there is an irrefutable fact that the longer criminals are kept in prison, the SAFER THE society is. IN OTHER WORDS, when criminals are kept in jail, they cannot GET INVOLVED IN ILLEGAL ACTIVITIES THAT THREATEN OTHERS so people can feel MORE secure. On the other hand, I hold a firm belief that a variety of MORE EFFECTIVE solutions can be used to reduce THE crime rate than longer prison sentenceS. First, keeping criminals in jail FOR A longER PERIOD OF TIME can MAKE them have difficulty in reintegrating into the community OWING TO THE PREJUDICES FROM THE PUBLIC as well as finding new jobs after being released DUE TO THE LACK OF QUALIFICATIONS AND NECESSARY VOCATIONAL SKILLS. Consequently, they tend to re-offend AS A LAST RESORT TO SURVIVE. THEREFORE, other solutions such as organizing educational campaignS SEEM TO BETTER AS THEY can raise students’ awareness about the strict punishmentS and consequenceS if they violate the lawS. BY DOING SO, THE crime rate CAN BE LOWERED, generatING a civilized society IN THE LONG RUN. In conclusion, although longer prison sentences can be EFFECTIVE in some certain situations, I AM still CONVINCED that other ways SUCH AS WELL-QUALIFIED EDUCATION are better to reduce crime.