Some people think that news has no connection with people’s lives; so it is a waste of time to read newspapers and watch television news programmes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the era of rising capitalism in the economy, I agree, that the offerings of a majority of the media companies have been transformed from serving the people to monetizing the platform. In this essay, we will discuss a few points to support my opinion. To begin with, journals and news channels on the tv have become more commercialised. In addition, in the leu of earning money, these platforms have diluted their informative contents with the advertisement of commodities. For instance, every day I spent around 1 hour to watch current-affairs on the television, out of which, more than half of the time the programmes show the advertisement of various brands. Similarly, in the newspapers, 50% of the space is covered with a sponsored advertisement. Therefore, these mediums have lost their actual motive of service. Besides, the remaining 50% of the informative content they show on the television-media and news journals would be focusing on covering the life and actions of celebrities and politicians. In other words, after sharing the commercialised information, most of the news would be focused on the details about famous personalities and comparatively less space is allocated to covering the issues and updates about the general public. For example, during the pandemic of Covid-19 in 2020, instead of showing the news related to vaccine and the nation-wide struggle, the news channel and papers were aggressively working on displaying the updates of celebrities who were getting ill such as, Amitabh Bachhan. To conclude, I concur that people should not waste their valuable time on informative-media platforms such as newspapers and tv programmes as these interfaces substantially provide the information of luminaries and brands which pay them handsome money and do not display the real-life struggle of the people.