Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The problem of whether or not graduates should take a year off after finishing school has sparked a heated debate. While some argue that gap year is a terrible idea for young people, I strongly contend that taking a year out would exert an extremely positive influence on their future. There are several reasons why opponents of a gap year practice maintain that it would be an unnecessary waste of time without any impact, with the most salient being that it gives students a feeling of irresponsibility due to which youth use time irrationally. For instance, Kazakhstan’s education ministry statistics showcase that 75% of gap year takers do not gain work experience, but relax and travel, as a result of failing their university’s entry exams. Another cogent argument is that most of them do not acquire a degree,which might precipitate a deficit of qualified workers in the future. I firmly believe that taking an academic break for one year is unequivocally positive, primarily due to its salutary effects on graduates to better embrace their vocation and career path with alacrity. Furthermore, empirical research corroborates this assertion. For instance, Harvard’s study among freshman students revealed that 85% of those who are absolutely certain in their class are those who took a year off after graduation. This is particularly desirable as it would culminate in a better choice of professions for future employees, benefiting the work potential of the country. In summary, while opponents contend that gap year is an irrational decision to that students usually fail college entry because of irresponsibility, I unequivocally assert that taking a year out is a great practice for those who want to deeply discover their life path.