Some people think certain prisoners should be made to set up unpaid community work, instead of just being put behid the bars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, it is believed by some part of the population that prisoners should devote their time to unpaid community work rather than sitting behind the bars. I agree with this opinion since, firstly, this approach might benefit the society and, secondly, it could re-educate some people. To begin with, on the one hand, by giving criminals an opportunity to work they are likely to benefit the local community by providing free workers and somehow balanced costs of keeping them in the prison. This is because of the fact that not only do those who were imprisoned can be seen as a free workforce but also their contribution can be considered as a pay for feeding them in prisons which is invested by the government. Therefore, the government expenditures could be paid off and these approach is likely to bring benefits to the society. For instance, recent research has shown that more than 20% of prisoners in the UK devote their time to building and construction that, in turn, have a great influence on local area. Moreover, it can be clearly observed that people can re-educate by doing some other additional activities and when feeling valuable for this world. This is due to the fact that not only do they have a chance to try some themselves in other spheres and develop various skills but also since they might feel that there are other choices besided beside criminality. As a result, this approach could have advatages for those who are imprisoned and help them to find new perception of life that, in turn, might give them a chance to receive exempt. Eventually, to conclude, I completely agree with the fact that prisoners should be involved in different king of work since, first of all, it is likely to have advantages for the local area and, secondly, it might function as a re-education for people.