An increasing number of people are now using the internet to meet new people and socialise. Some people think this has brought people closer together while others think people are becoming more isolated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays the communication throughout the social media is a common method around the world. Thus, some people believe that it brings individuals together, whereas others think that people become more isolated because of the internet. I believe that the online services are beneficial especially considering the current situation when a meeting between citizens is not allowed. This essay will analyse both perspectives and reach a conclusion. On the one hand, critics claim that crowd are not interested to attend physical social clubs since they can create new friendships on social platforms such as Facebook or Instagram. Thus, human contact is lost and society could develop loneliness felling which sadly could lead to depression. Opponents also find this development inadequate because it encourages the virtual connection to replace the importance of the presence even at the important events in other's lives. For example, in a recent study carried out by the London Radio the participants admitted that they tend to send virtual birthday wished to their family rather than visiting them because is a very convenient way. On the other hand, supporters believe that the chance to connect with others by online services positively improves everyone's life quality, especially in situations where direct contact is not possible. Sadly, at the present, a moment more than 80 percent of the citizens know someone who lives abroad and is not able to visit regularly, therefore the only way to see each other is throughout the video calls. Proponents also support the fact that the ability to meet others online is increasing the self-esteem if the subjects find it difficult to build relationships in the real life. For instance, some individuals are not confident enough about their speaking skills, hence they find it much easier to write. In conclusion, although the increased usage of the telecommunication system is decreasing the physical contact, it also enables people to stay in touch even if they are far apart.