It is common nowadays for each member of the family to have their own piece of modern technology. Some people think this will lead to a break down in family relations and communication. To what extent do you agree?

The vast majority of people nowadays use their own smartphones and laptops. Today, we do not often talk with our parents and children face-to-face, and this tendency would grow inevitably in the nearest future. I suppose that, if we totaly avoid communication with our families in real world it might lead us to a destruction of deep connection between relatives. However, with widely accessible personal devices we could stay in touch with our family members from anywhere, so in the next few paragraphs we will discuss pros and cons of this question. To start off, relationships within a family is a fragile thing, and if we replace part of it with advanced technology, we might break it. It seems to me, that if we changed the practice of family-dinners and new-year offline celebration with a zoom conference, we would lose the sense of unity with our clan. For instance, your old grandmother might not figure out how to handle an online conference call and omit your party. Not only unpleasant things come with sophisticated technologies, previously if you wanted to stay in touch with someone, you would have paid a personal visit, right now it is not that complicated. Likewise, with an access to the world wide web, you could search your close relatives facebook pages and have up to date data about their life. From my point of view, relationships in 2021 are more solid, also because you can decide any place on the Earth to live, and still have a chance to wish your mother or granny a happy birthday while looking her in the eyes. To conclude, messengers and social media did make important breakthrough in communication, and their impact on our lives is significant. We speak and chat with our close people even if we can not meet in the real world, however it is not a clever idea to completely reduce offline meetings, because our old family members sometimes didn’t cover this technological gap.