In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many small shops are no more in existence due to people's preference for large stores and malls. I believe this is a positive development because malls usually have varieties of items and sells only registered products. Purchasing of items at malls is easier as it reduces the stress of patronising many shops on different streets for varieties of items. This is because large shops are a one-stop shop for consumption of all items desired. For instance, more than 80% of small shops in my community were selling the same brand of baby diapers as their neighbours, which makes life difficulty for we nursing mothers' in that locality. But since Shoprite supermarket was opened very close to our locality 4years ago, many of them were closed down because they could not satisfy the needs of we consumers. Furthermore, aside the varieties of items possess by large stores, all goods sold there are registered by appropriate government agencies. This major reason gives consumers the confidence of being able to trace the source of such product if there is any challenge. A good example was a local rice made by Festus Group of Company, that was discovered to have been expired. The company was traced through the label on the pack, it was sanctioned and the circulation of the rice was stopped. In conclusion, increase in the closure of small shops is a very welcome development as their services are not satisfying and safe.