Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your personal opinion

In recent years, the imperativeness of children's correct upbring has become a crucial part of parenting. Although it is necessary to provide some privilege to the young one's in making their daily life decisions, I believe that there should be certain limitations to this freedom as its excess can lead to the development of a selfish characteristic in them. In this essay, we will understand both the side of the argument. To start with, a limited amount of freedom should be provided to the children to develop the decision making skill in them. In addition, this will also enhance the sense of ownership and responsibility in the young ones'. For instance, every time I go shopping with my nephew, I allow him to decide and purchase his stationary commodities. By doing this, I observe a sense of mindfulness and responsibility in his buy pattern through his choice of product and colour. Therefore, allowing children to choose could help in enhancing their management skills. However, "excess of anything can be harmful". That is to say, if children are given the freedom to live as they want, where they can freely select their clothes, food and television programs, they will exploit that privilege to an extent that it will begin to affect their mental and physical health. Moreover, the minors may suffer from obesity due to delicious but unhealthy food they may eat and they also might become a self-centred person in nature because of their un-restricted lifestyle. For example, a majority of students, whose parents are working professionals, tend to suffer from obesity as their parents do not have the time to cook and they, therefore, give them the pocket money to buy the lunch of their choice. Thus, affecting the physical health of the child. Further, children who are single child are observed to be selfish in nature, because, being the only child, they receive more pampering from their parents and thus, they deficit the quality of thinking about others. To conclude, guardians should not allow their offsprings do everything by their choice as it may lead them to become a negative personality and can also affect their physical development, in contrast, they should permit their child to decide for their own self in a restricted manner to teach them the importance of responsibility and encourage better decision-making skills in them.