People nowadays sleep less than they used to do in the past. What are the causes? What are the effects?

Sleeping is an important factor for a healthy life, however people allow less time to it in the present moment than before. Lack of sleep could be caused by the nature of their job as well as their lifestyle. Sadly, these factors could have undesirable results such as health issues and affect their level of concentration. Arguably, the first cause of reduced time for rest is their working pattern. Some people are requested to work during the night, thus their schedule, therefore they need to rest during the day. Although the shift hours allow them to have a 12 hours break, in general their sleeping time does not exceed 5 hours. Unfortunately, the recommended time for a healthy life is a minimum of 8 hours. Another cause could be the lifestyle which sometimes could be stressful and individuals are not able to follow a set sleeping routine. For example, families with a newborn in the house confirm that their hours of night rest reduced since they have to wake up many times. Turning to the results, health problems such as anxiety is the first that specialists are trying to deal with. This form of illness also affects social life and relationships, hence the person could become agitated. Another drawback could be a low level of concentration which could affect the professional results of the subject. Concentration is an important factor for certain professions such as drivers. For example, in a recent study carried out by BBC news most of the road accidents were caused by the lorry drivers who were lacking the sleeping hours. In conclusion, people sleep less nowadays because of their work nature as well as their lifestyle and these could lead to health issues as well as concentration problems.